Happy Memorial Day and Safe Travels….A Special Tribute Shared by USAA’s Paul Berry to The American Widow Project

We wish all of our members of Dimechimes Claims Staffing and Claims Training groups and to our ClaimSmentor members a very safe and enjoyable Memorial Day Weekend.

Memorial weekend also spurs memories of my hero- my dad -who I dedicated the ClaimSmentor project to in his honor as the best mentor in my life and my career. Memorial day is always now a day of a heart felt missing him and yearning to talk to him just one more day, one more time, and even just one more word. I wish so much we could be in FL this coming weekend to visit NAS Barrancas Cemetary at NAS Pensacola where not only my father is, but my brother, my brother in law, and several other family members were laid to rest there. Coming from a military family we all know the quiet beauty and tribute to our military on days such as Memorial Day as they place the small American flags at each marker.(See photo on link above) How I wish I could share that this weekend with other family members in the area.

I just ran across this USAA article by staff member, Paul Berry, which is the perfect story to honor our American military families. It is quite moving and I hope you’ll share it with others who will prayer for the women of  The American Widow Project- a group of very young women who are widows of American soldiers who have lost their lives fighting in recent years for our country. They are leaving from USAA headquarters going to Washington, DC and stopping to meet and support other young American widows in similar situations having lost their spouses. Mr Berry says it all in this article along with providing email links to the women hosting this most worthy effort. We hope you too will send well wishes their way and prayers for all of our military this holiday weekend.

It makes me proud to be a USAA policyholder so thank you Mr Berry for sharing this most moving story as we enter this holiday weekend. I hope many of you will take the time to view The American Widow Project website and their many heart wrenching stories of loss of their spouses due to war.

http://voices.mysanantonio.com/paulberry/

http://voices.mysanantonio.com/paulberry/2009/05/my-memorial-day-weekend-plans.html

We will be back on line Tuesday after Memorial Weekend. God Bless the USA and God Bless the American Widow Project members!

 

We'd love to hear from you- please leave a reply with your comments!

